This Mega Max raglan top sewing pattern is super simple to sew. With bright prints and contrasting solids it’s easy to sew tops that my kids love to wear again and again. I’ve definitely got my money’s worth out of this sewing pattern.


With a bright and colourful print and contrasting plain sleeves these raglan shirts really stand out from the crowd. Children love the striking prints whilst parents love how comfortable and easy care they are.

If you’re interested in how it’s made and how you can make your very own raglan top (it’s really easy I promise!) scroll on down to find out how.

Mega Max Sewing Pattern

I typically use the Mega Max sewing pattern to make simple raglan t-shirts but there are actually loads and loads of different options included in the sewing pattern. There’s a few different cuff and hem options as well as the sleeve length options you’d expect. There’s also an optional hood which my kids love and pockets too.

I paid a little extra for the additional “bells and whistles” sewing pattern. This includes loads and loads of ears, wings, tails even! It’s perfect for sewing fancy dress costumes. I hate, hate, hate “single use” fancy dress outfits. They are rarely worn a second time and therefore are generally very poor quality so they can’t even be passed onto someone else to enjoy. I’d much rather take a simple top like this one and add features to make it fancy dress without compromising on comfort for everyday wear.


Sewing Max and Meena’s Mega Max Raglan

I’ve chosen the simple hemmed cuffs and hem. It’s a quick and simple finish that leaves the fabric to really shine.

On this occasion my kid’s decided to go without the hood. They seem to vary between “hoods are essential” to “meh”. It seems like they’re in a “meh to hoods” phase at the moment. So no hood it is.

I love how raglan top look with contrasting fabric for the sleeves. Plus it means that I can get more garments out of my pricey print fabrics.

As always I’ve chosen a cotton Lycra jersey. It has great stretch and recovery, perfect for t-shirts like this one.


I hope you have enjoyed reading about my sewing adventures.

Follow me on your favourite social media channel for more sewing inspiration and tips.


Until my kids grow into it this t-shirt will be availible from my Etsy Shop.


I do hope my Raglan Top sewing project has inspired you to have ago at sewing your own kids clothing.

Pop this post in your Pinterest board so you can find it later.


A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my corner little of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,