The Wildflower Dress Sewing Pattern from Peek-A-Boo Patterns is one of my favourite dress sewing patterns. It’s incredibly versatile, this time I’m sewing the flutter sleeved version in this fun Guinea Pig print fabric.


Wildflower Dress Sewing Pattern

I love the Wildflower dress sewing pattern from Peek-A-Boo patterns. There are loads of different options to sew. The full twirl skirt is fantastic if you have plenty of fabric. It looks amazing as my Little Miss twirls about dancing – the perfect party dress!!

There’s also an Aline skirt option for when you’re short on fabric. It’s also a better option for directional prints like this fun guinea pig print fabric.

My Little Miss loves the flutter sleeve option for summer party dresses. It’s such a cute sleeve variation.

Sewing a Guinea Pig Dress with Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Wildflower

Digital Sewing Patterns

Digital sewing patterns are fantastic for kids clothes because you just print the size you want, no tracing or messing about trying to preserve the larger sizes of the pattern for using as your child grows.

They generally come with loads of different options and a wider size range than traditional paper sewing patterns. Most of the digital sewing patterns I own go all the way up to the teenage years.

For me one of the huge benefits of using digital sewing patterns over their paper counterparts is space. I can keep as many digital patterns as I like on a tiny hard drive taking up hardly any space in my sewing room. My traditional paper sewing patterns have to squeeze into a box on a shelf. I don’t feel guilty keeping that digital pattern that I’ll probably never find the time to use because it doesn’t take up any resources in my home. That paper dress pattern on the other hand – that has to justify the space it takes up.


Sewing Fabric and Notions

Printed Polycotton Fabric Guinea Pigs Lilac

I’m sewing the Wildflower dress in this super cute Guinea Pig polycotton fabric. I came across it just after my children adopted a pir of adorable guinea pigs and I couldn’t resist commemorating the occasion with fabric – that’s normal right?!!?

To save a few pennies I’ve sewn the bodice lining in an old bed sheet that’s just the right shade of lilac.

Whilst it’s not the best quality being polycotton it was super affordable so I really don’t mind the finish not being so great. My Little Miss prefers to wear dresses but she also enjoys lots of active play so it’s handy to have cheap and cheerful dresses that I don’t mind getting covered in mud.

Dill Round Matte Buttons

I picked these cute wooden buttons out of my inherited stash. I’ve included a link to something similar from my favourite haberdashery supplier.

Sewing a Guinea Pig Dress with Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Wildflower

As always I’m sewing this project with my favourite Coats Moon thread. It’s great value and suitable for just about any sewing project. I stock lots of colours and big value packs in my Etsy shop.

Coats Moon Thread Lilac

Sewing the Wildflower Dress

The Wildflower Dress is a nice and easy sewing project. Peek-A-Boo Patterns calls it an intermediate sewing project. I’d say it’s more confident beginner. Maybe not suitable for a complete beginner but as a first dress or even garment, an enthusiastic beginner could sew it.

There aren’t really any complicated bits. The bodice is nice and straightforward with simple step by step instructions.

I have yet to attempt the sweetheart neckline as I imagine that will be very difficult to get looking perfectly neat – maybe that’s why this is described as an intermediate pattern? If you’re a beginner I’d definitely advise you to save this option for when you have more experience under your belt.

Sewing a Guinea Pig Dress with Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Wildflower

I love to hand stitch the bodice lining to the skirt. It’s so difficult to get the stitching invisible from the front of the dress if you machine sew it. I find it much quicker and easier to sew this bit by hand.

The rest of the Wildflower Dress sews up really easily. It’s a pretty quick sew too.


I hope you have enjoyed reading about my adventures in sewing.

Follow me on your favourite social media channel for more sewing projects and inspiration.

Sewing a Guinea Pig Dress with Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Wildflower

I do hope my sewing project has inspired you to have ago at sewing your own dresses.

Pop this post in your Pinterest board so you can find it later.

Sewing a Guinea Pig Dress with Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Wildflower Pinterest Pin

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,