My kids love Chicken Satay Skewers. They’re great for packed lunches and picnics but the one’s from the supermarket are so expensive and full of additives. So I’ve made my own Chicken Satay Skewers. They’re much cheaper and healthier. I’ve also made them peanut free so that my kids can share them with their friends and take them in their school lunch boxes.


Ingredients

  • Chicken Thighs
  • Soy Sauce 1/4 Cup
  • Brown Sugar 2 Tablespoons
  • Garlic
  • Turmeric
  • Ground Ginger
  • Salt
  • Coriander
  • Milk
  • Lime Juice
Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe [Peanut Free] Ingredients

How to Make Chicken Satay Skewers

Start by making the marinade.

Mix together the spices with the soy sauce, sugar and a splash of milk. The quantities aren’t crucial, if you like garlic add plenty, if you don’t have a sweet tooth hold back on the sugar.

Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe [Peanut Free]

Chop the chicken thigh into bite sized pieces. You could totally use chicken breast if you prefer. I’m only using chicken thighs because they are cheaper than breasts.

Add the chicken pieces to the marinade.

Pop the mixture into the fridge to marinade. If you can only leave it half an hour than that’s OK but if you can leave it for a few hours or overnight than the flavours will be more intense.

Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe [Peanut Free]

I like to cook Chicken Satay in the air fryer. I cook it for about 10 minutes giving it a good shake half way through. If you don’t have an air fryer you could cook the Chicken Satay in a conventional oven. Pop them in at gas mark 4 for about 30 minutes.

Cut open one of the pieces of chicken to check that they are cooked through.

Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe [Peanut Free]

You can each Chicken Satay just like this but I like to thread the chicken pieces onto Skewers for a bit of fun for the kids. It makes them a little neater to eat for parties and packed lunches too.


I do hope that my Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe recipe has inspired you to have a go at making your own lunch box treats.

Follow me on your favourite social media channel for more budget family recipes.

Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe [Peanut Free]

Pin It Now, Cook it Later

Pin this Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe to your Pinterest board so you can find it when you need a fun party recipe.

Chicken Satay Skewers Recipe [Peanut Free] Pinterest Pin

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,