I’m sewing up a pair of Spiderman shorts for my Little Dude with Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Free Day Camp Shorts sewing pattern. I’m sharing all my best tips and tricks to help you sew your own toddler shorts with a fun money saving twist.


Fabric Choices

My Little Dude insists on living in shorts for about 10 months of the year – crazy boy!! At least they’re nice and quick to sew so he can have a good variety to choose from.

He’s currently obsessed with Batman and Spiderman so I treated him to some new character fat quarters.

A fat quarter isn’t really enough fabric for a pair of toddler shorts, not by half. A few years ago I came up with this idea of using a premium fabric for one half of the shorts and a cheaper plain fabric for the other side. The result is a really fun harlequin effect.

So for one fat quarter and some scraps of plain black cotton, I’ve got a premium looking pair of shorts that will make my Little Dude’s day.

Spiderman fabric
Spiderman fabric

Sewing Pattern

This is my first sew of Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts. The sewing pattern is free if you sign up for their Facebook group.

I like Peek-A-Boo Patterns, they are nice and straightforward sewing patterns. The Day Camp Shorts were true to form, nice and simple.

Day Camp Set Sewing Pattern

Sewing Techniques

I like to stitch my seams on a standard sewing machine then overlock them for a neat and professional finish.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project - Seams
Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project – Seams

When it came to finishing the hems I ignored the instructions and used my favourite technique of overlocking the raw edges. The instructions say to double fold the hems which is a better technique if you don’t have an overlocker handy.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project - Hems
Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project – Hems

Experience has taught me to always, always measure my hems and waistbands. By getting the measurement consistent I can consistently catch the hem with my top stitching for a perfect finish.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project - Measuring
Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project – Measuring

The instructions used the traditional technique of inserting the elastic into a casing then stitching the two ends together. I prefer to stitch the two ends of my elastic together with a zig zag stitch. Then I make the elastic casing around the elastic loop, top stitching it in place as I go. It’s a more fiddly technique but I think it leaves a neater finish as there is no hole to sew up.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project - Elastic
Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project – Elastic

I like to use a twin needle to stitch my hems and waistbands. I think it looks so professional. And if I’ve got my measuring just spot on, it holds the overlocked edge in place perfectly, almost like a cover stitch machine.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project - Top Stitching
Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project – Top Stitching

I’ve got some of my favourite twin needles in my Etsy shop.

Schmetz Twin Needle 4.0mm Size 80 Machine Needle
Schmetz Twin Needle 4.0mm Size 80 Machine Needle

I do hope my sewing project has inspired you to have a go at sewing shorts for the Little Dude in your own life.

Follow me on your favourite social media channel for more stitching inspiration.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project
Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project

Pin It Now, Sew It Later

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project - Pinterest Pin
Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Day Camp Shorts Sewing Project – Pinterest Pin

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


, ,