Wondering what to do with those fabric scraps left over from bigger sewing projects? Sewing your own scrunchies is the perfect solution. It’s a great way of making use of those fabric scraps as well as being the perfect finishing touch to an outfit.


How to Sew a Hair Scrunchie

I’ve cut my fabric to 6″ wide by 30″ long. I’ve also cut a length of 5mm elastic 6″ long. I’ve pinned the end of the elastic to the wrong side of the fabric 3/4 of the way across. I’ve used a zig zag stitch to stitch the elastic in place.

How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie - Step 1
How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie – Step 1

I’ve pressed under about half an inch at the opposite end of the length of fabric.

How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie - Step 2
How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie – Step 2

Then I folded the fabric in half length ways

How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie - Step 3
How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie – Step 3

and stitched along the long edge.

How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie - Step 4
How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie – Step 4

The jumbo sized scrunchies are quite easy to turn right sides out with your fingers. Smaller sizes would need help from a loop turner.

How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie - Step 5
How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie – Step 5

The un-stitched end of the elastic is inserted into the other end of the scrunchie. And the pressed hem pulled over the join. Then a simple line of stitching through the fabric and elastic.


Linking Up To: Creatively Crafty Link Party #297Thinking Out Loud ThursdayCelebrate Your Story! #298Share Your Style #321Wednesday Link Party 420Party In Your PJ’s #380Tuesday Turn About #121Karins Kottage Weekly Linky PartyAll About Home Link Party #113Show me what you love # 40


I do hope this sewing project inspires you to have a go at sewing your own scrunchies. Follow me on your favourite social media channel to see more craft projects like this.

How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie - Step
How to Sew a DIY Hair Scrunchie

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,

More Sewing Projects to Inspire You