There’s loads of awesome character print fabrics but they’re so expensive. And if you want a comfy stretch fabric for a shirt you’d better be prepared to part with some serious cash. I don’t know about you but my budget just doesn’t stretch that far as often as I’d like.

One of the solutions I’ve come up with is to use an affordable character fat quarter and pair it with cheaper plain fabric or even an old shirt. I’m using Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan shirt pattern to sew an adorable character shirt for my Little Dude for a fraction of the cost of even a store bought character shirt.


Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan Sewing Pattern

Peek-a-Boo Declan Pullover Sewing Pattern

I have a little bit of a love affair with Peek-A-Boo patterns. They are really simple and straightforward, always walking you through any tricky bits or new techniques. But the results are really nicely made wearable clothes that my children love.

Like all Peek-A-Boo patterns the Declan includes lots of different options. My kids love the hood option. There’s short and long sleeves as well as cuffs and a Henley collar. The polo collar is definitely my favourite. It makes a perfect school polo shirt too.

Sewing a Batman Shirt on a Budget with Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan

I’ve learnt from past mistakes that the hood and Henley options cannot be made with woven fabric. The neckband or hood needs to stretch to fit around the neck of the shirt. But the collar piece is strengthened with interfacing so there’s no stretch needed here at all.

Digital Sewing Patterns

Digital sewing patterns are fantastic for kids clothes because you just print the size you want, no tracing or messing about trying to preserve the larger sizes of the pattern for using as your child grows.

They generally come with loads of different options and a wider size range than traditional paper sewing patterns. Most of the digital sewing patterns I own go all the way up to the teenage years.

For me one of the huge benefits of using digital sewing patterns over their paper counterparts is space. I can keep as many digital patterns as I like on a tiny hard drive taking up hardly any space in my sewing room. My traditional paper sewing patterns have to squeeze into a box on a shelf. I don’t feel guilty keeping that digital pattern that I’ll probably never find the time to use because it doesn’t take up any resources in my home. That paper dress pattern on the other hand – that has to justify the space it takes up.


Sewing Fabric

I picked up this Batman fat quarter whilst I was on holiday. I guess it’s my idea of a souvenir! It’s 100% cotton woven quilting fabric in a lovely quality.

Fat Quarter Batman Logo On Black 100% Cotton Quilting Fabric

For the main parts of the shirt I’m using an old T-shirt that is no longer worn. I had to cut my pieces carefully to avoid a few holes and stains. I’ve also used the inside of the old T-shirt as the right side of the new shirt. This has helped to hide a couple of stains and some small printing on the front of the old shirt. It feels great to not only get free fabric but to reuse something that otherwise would have gone in the bin.


Sewing Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan

Sewing a Batman Shirt on a Budget with Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan

I’ve cut the front, back, sleeves and collar underside from the old shirt. Then I’ve cut the collar front and placket pieces from the character fat quarter. There was enough fabric left for a matching pocket.

Sewing a Batman Shirt on a Budget with Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan

For the patch pocket I’ve used another Peek-A-Boo pattern, the Day Camp Set. I got this pattern completely free when I signed up to the Peek-A-Boo patterns newsletter. Click on the sewing pattern image below and you can get your own copy for free too. You’ll also get special offers like discounts off new sewing patterns.

Day Camp Set Sewing Pattern

Apart from using the contrasting fabrics I stitched the Declan according to the pattern instructions.

It’s a lovely simple pattern, the only tricky bits are the collar and placket but the pattern instructions walk you through them step by step. There’s also videos on the Peek-A-Boo patterns website if you need some extra help.

I like to use a twin needle to stitch my hems. It’s a very simple way to achieve a really professional finish.

Sewing a Batman Shirt on a Budget with Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan

I hope you have enjoyed reading about my adventures in sewing.

Follow me on your favourite social media channel for more sewing projects and thrifty tips.

Sewing a Batman Shirt on a Budget with Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan

I do hope my sewing project has inspired you to have ago at sewing your own character shirt.

Pop this post in your Pinterest board so you can find it for your next sewing session.

Sewing a Batman Shirt on a Budget with Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Declan Pinterest Pin

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,