The Rough and Tumble pants sewing pattern from Peek-A-Boo Patterns is packed with features that make them perfect for rough and tumble play. I’m all about well designed, hard wearing kids clothes that leave children free to really play and grow. So of course Rough and Tumble are my favourite pants sewing pattern.

But sometimes my kids want a pair of shorts instead. Keep on reading to see how I hack Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Rough and Tumble Pants sewing pattern into shorts.


Rough and Tumble Pants Sewing Pattern

Let’s get stuck into all those features I mentioned! Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Rough and Tumble pants are absolutely packed full of really well designed features to make them more hardwearing as well as being practical for kids that really play.

Peek-A-Boo Rough n' Tumble Pants sewing pattern
Peek-A-Boo Rough n’ Tumble Pants sewing pattern

There’s the elasticated waistband to make getting dressed easier. Honestly, I don’t understand why this isn’t more of a thing? Bring able to dress themselves gives a child so much confidence and autonomy over their appearance. But for me the best part is how easy it makes my mornings! Selfish I know. But why oh why are so many clothes sized for young children so complicated to get on and off??!

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Rough & Tumble Shorts- Sewing Pattern Hack

Then there’s the reinforced knee patches. They can be sewn in a contrasting fabric for a fun feature or neatly hidden inside the pants if that floats your boat. Why don’t more kids pants have this? If you’ve got a crawler, knee skidder type of kid this one feature could double the life of a pair of pants.

The leg cuff can be made elasticated or with a standard pant hem. The elasticated cuff would make the pants “grow with me” to some extent. While the pants are too long the elasticated leg cuff would hold them neatly out of the way, until the wearer grows a little taller. Getting two sizes of wear out of the one pair of pants would make them even better value.

My favourite feature of this sewing pattern is the pockets. Oh the pockets! Any parent knows how important pockets are for collecting treasures. The rough and tumble pants have four reasonably sized pockets. Like actual, fit a whole child’s hand in them sized pockets. There’s two patch pockets on the front and two welt pockets on the back.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Rough & Tumble Shorts- Sewing Pattern Hack

There’s an optional faux drawstring for the waistband and a faux fly which I think is a lovely touch. The faux fly is just oh so cute.

All these different features make Peek-A-Boo Pattern’s Rough and Tumble pants extremely versatile to wear but also to sew. I like to adapt the design to suit the fabric I have availible. As long as I have enough fabric for the main legs of the pants I can add or leave out features according to the scraps of fabric I have left over. Not enough fabric for the pockets? No problem! The cuffs can even be sewn from contrasting fabric, as can the pockets and knee patches. So this sewing pattern has become one of my favourite stash busters.

New to Digital Sewing Patterns?

Digital sewing patterns are fantastic for kids clothes because you just print the size you want, no tracing or messing about trying to preserve the larger sizes of the pattern for using as your child grows.

They generally come with loads of different options and a wider size range than traditional paper sewing patterns. Most of the digital sewing patterns I own go all the way up to the teenage years.

For me one of the huge benefits of using digital sewing patterns over their paper counterparts is space. I can keep as many digital patterns as I like on a tiny hard drive taking up hardly any space in my sewing room. My traditional paper sewing patterns have to squeeze into a box on a shelf. I don’t feel guilty keeping that digital pattern that I’ll probably never find the time to use because it doesn’t take up any resources in my home. That paper dress pattern on the other hand – that has to justify the space it takes up.


Rough and Tumble Shorts Pattern Hack

On this occasion I actually didn’t have enough fabric leftover to sew a pair of pants but I had a piece that was too big to throw away. I had plenty of scraps of fabric for the waistband and a couple of pockets but not a big enough piece for the legs.

So I took my copy of the Rough and Tumble Pants pattern pieces and folded the pant legs up. I made sure that I folded the pattern at an exact right angle to the grain line of the fabric. And I also made sure that I measured the same distance on both leg pattern pieces so that they were both the same length.

I would have preferred the shorts to be a bit longer than they are, but I was working with the fabric I had availible.

I’m delighted with the result and the knowledge that I’ve put this otherwise useless fabric to good use.


Sewing Fabric

I live in jeans. I love how comfortable, yet smart (ish) and most of all how hardwearing they are. So I kind of assume that my kids want to wear jeans too. I’m not so sure that’s true but I keep making them jeans. I’m not sure that denim was such a good fabric choice for the Rough and Tumble pants pattern. It was pretty tough to work with but I persevered through a few broken needles and I’m really pleased with the results.

I’ve chosen this fun rocket ship print which my Little Man will love.

Rocket ship Denim
Rocket ship Denim

I decided to skip the contrasting thread of top stitching and instead went with a very dark navy thread.

Coats Moon Thread – Blue M236
Coats Moon Thread – Blue M236
Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Rough & Tumble Shorts- Sewing Pattern Hack

I used a twin needle for the topstitching. It creates two perfectly parallel lines of stitching, just like you see on a lot of commercial garments. It makes such a professional looking finish for virtually no extra effort. You just need an extra reel of thread for the second needle. Easy peasy and such a great feature.

Schmetz Twin Needle 4.0mm Size 80 Machine Needle
Schmetz Twin Needle 4.0mm Size 80 Machine Needle

I hope you have enjoyed reading about my adventures in sewing.

Follow me on your favourite social media channel for more sewing inspiration and tips.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Rough & Tumble Shorts- Sewing Pattern Hack

I do hope my sewing project has inspired you to have ago at sewing your own Rough and Tumble Shorts.

Pop this post in your Pinterest board so you can find it later.

Peek-A-Boo Pattern's Rough & Tumble Shorts- Sewing Pattern Hack Pinterest Pin

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,