I’ve finally perfected my fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe!! It’s super easy to make and is deliciously fresh and flavourful with a good dose of spicy heat.


Ingredients

  • Fresh Tomatoes
  • Onion
  • Chillies
  • Coriander
  • Lemon Juice
Tomato Salsa Recipe

Method

The first and most important step is to remove the seeds and juicy insides from the tomatoes. This step can’t be skipped or you’ll just be making an unpleasant sludge.

Cut each tomato in half and scoop out the insides with a tea spoon.

Tomato Salsa Recipe

Then chop them up into little chunks.

Tomato Salsa Recipe

Finely dice the onion and add that to the tomatoes. I usually use a small yellow onion but red onions work really well too if I have one to hand. I’ve also made this recipe with spring onions and they taste great too.

Tomato Salsa Recipe

The chillies can be left out of you prefer a milder salsa. If you like the spice, finely dice your chillies and add them to the tomatoes.

Tomato Salsa Recipe

Finely chop the coriander and add this to the tomato mixture.

Tomato Salsa Recipe

Add a squirt of lemon juice and give it a good stir.


Tasting Notes

All of the ingredients in this recipe are “to taste”. I start with as many fresh tomatoes as I have and add the other ingredients then taste the mixture and add other ingredients as I see fit.

If you’re buying the ingredients for this recipe as a guide I’d say four good sized salad tomatoes to one half of a small onion and half of a small chilli with a generous pinch of coriander.

I serve this salsa with most salad dishes. It adds a delicious bite to a plain green salad. It’s also great with loaded nachos and works well as a dip at parties.


I do hope you have enjoyed having a peak at my latest recipe. Please feel free to use my recipes to inspire your own creations, pin it to your Pinterest for later.

Tomato Salsa Recipe
Tomato Salsa Recipe

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,

Other Recipes You Might Like