I’ve got some leftover aran knitting yarn from a jumper I knitted. I decided to make a matching hat and found this free Mariners Hat knitting pattern, which was perfect.


Materials

I’m using So Crafty Red Aran Yarn from Aldi. It’s a beautiful deep red colour which really caught my eye. It was also a fantastic price, just £4.99 for 400g a ball.

I’ve got about 200g left over from my jumper and decided to knit some winter accessories to match my new jumper. I’m determined to do some serious stash busting before I invest in any new yarn.

I knitted most of the hat on circular needles as described in the pattern. But as I got closer to the top it got really tricky to stretch the stitches across the circular needles. I tried using the magic loop technique but frankly I’m rubbish at it! So I switched to double pointed needles for the last few rows.

So Crafty Red Aran Yarn
So Crafty Red Aran Yarn
Double Ended Knitting Pins 5mm
40 cm x 5 mm Circular Needles
40 cm x 5 mm Circular Needles
Mariners Hat Knitting Project
Mariners Hat Knitting Project

Knitting Pattern

I’ve followed the Mariners Hat Knitting Pattern from Handy Little Me.

It’s a free knitting pattern or you can buy the printable pdf version.

The Mariners Hat Knitting Pattern comes in all sizes from baby to adult. So I think I’ll be knitting my kiddos some of these hats.

I’ve found to to be a fantastic pattern for using up leftover yarn. What better way to put it to use than by making accessories to co-ordinate with the bigger project?

Mariners Hat Knitting Project
Mariners Hat Knitting Project

I do hope my Mariners Hat Knitting project has inspired you to have a go at knitting your own hats with your leftover bits of yarn.

Follow me on your favourite social media channel for more crafty projects and knitting patterens.

Mariners Hat Knitting Project
Mariners Hat Knitting Project

Crafty Linky Parties

[Creative Lovers] [Really Crafty Link Party] [Craftastic Monday Link Party] [All About Home Link Party] [Beautifully Made Link Party] [Share Your Style] [Creatively Crafty Link Party] [Link Up On the Edge] [Create, Bake, Grow & Gather Party] [Farmhouse Friday] [Handmade Monday] [Inspire Me Monday] [Dare to Share] [Saturday Sparks Link Party] [Wednesday Link Party] [Friday With Friends] [Home Matters Linky Party] [Funtastic Friday Link Party] [Spread The Kindness Link Up] [Encouraging Hearts & Home Blog Hop] [Creative Crafts Linky Party] [Party in Your PJs] [Wonderful Wednesday] [Karins Kottage Wednesday Linky Party] [Creative Muster] [Happiness Is Homemade] [183 Senior Salon] [Linky Ladies Party]


Pin It Now, Knit It Later

Mariners Hat Knitting Project - Pinterest Pin
Mariners Hat Knitting Project – Pinterest Pin

A Little Bit About Me . . .

Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the interweb. I’m Bridie, mum to two small humans, full time homemaker and full time craftaholic – which totally explains why I’m always short on time!

Bridie @ Heart Hearth and Crafting

I’ve included links to my favourite retailers for the products I’ve used to make my crafts. Click on any of the product images and links for full details. If you decide to buy any of these products I may get a small percentage of what you spend. There’s no cost to you at all.


,